North Carolina is known for its tough DWI laws. Under North Carolina DUI (DWI) law, you can be charged with DWI in two different ways. First, if your driving appears to be impaired and you have alcohol in your system, you can be arrested. This type of driving while impaired charge does not require a specific blood alcohol content (BAC) level. However, you can also be arrested under the state's per se law. Under this law you are considered DWI if you are driving with a BAC of .08% or higher. You can be convicted under this law even if you pass the field sobriety tests.DWI Arrests in North Carolina
When you are arrested as a DWI suspect in North Carolina, you will be asked to submit to a BAC test. You can refuse this test, but if you do, the fact that you refused can be used as evidence against you in court. If you wish to have the test done by an independent testing agency, the law in North Carolina requires the police to cooperate with you to allow you to contact a testing agency.
North Carolina DWI arrests have a complex sentencing structure. Most states have a fairly cut-and-dried sentencing scheme, but in North Carolina, many variables determine how you can be charged after your arrest. You can be charged on one of five levels, depending on the circumstances surrounding your arrest. Each level carries different consequences. For this reason, it is crucial that you talk with a lawyer as soon as possible after your arrest. Having a lawyer working with you will help you get a fair trail and conviction.
NC underage DWI
laws and penalties
In North Carolina, the underage DWI is considered as class 2 misdemeanor. If you are the first time offender, you will be required to complete up to 30 days of community service along with minimum fines of $1,000. Any further violations will be punished by at least 45 days of community service and more severe fines and penalties depending on the level of your accidents. Sometimes the judge can impose same level of punishment to the underage DWI offender as the adults get because of severity of the accidents.
If you are arrested for a North Carolina DWI, you will face the following consequences:
If you are convicted of a DWI for the second or third time, you will face stricter consequences.License Suspensions for North Carolina DWI
License suspension times vary depending on the number of times you have been convicted of a DWI in North Carolina. These license suspension times can also vary based on the circumstances of your arrest. The standard license suspension times are as follows:
License suspensions in North Carolina DWI cases are at the discretion of the court provided they meet these minimum amounts, so it is crucial to have a lawyer working with you to get the lowest possible suspension time. Also, a lawyer can help you apply for limited driving privileges after you have served some of your suspension.Insurance Consequences
If you are convicted of a DWI in North Carolina, you will not only lose your license and face fines and potential jail time, but you will also face insurance consequences. Once your insurance company is notified of your conviction, one of two things may happen. Either they will increase your premiums significantly, or they will drop your coverage altogether. However, before you can get your license back or apply for limited driving privileges, you will have to have insurance coverage. You might find this difficult as other insurance companies may refuse to cover you. You will end up paying a high price for your insurance when you find a company willing to insure you. So avoiding a DWI can lead to saving money on car insurance in addition to being safe and avoiding legal consequences. If you find yourself searching for new insurance coverage Home and Contents Insurance is an understanding company that can help you through your insurance problems.