dui laws

Maine DUI Laws & Maine DUI Attorneys


Drunk driving in the state of Maine is referred to as operating under the influence (sometimes called a Maine DUI charge), driving under the influence (DUI), or operating while intoxicated (OWI). The more common term is OUI. You can be arrested for OUI in Maine if your physical and mental facilities are impaired because you have consumed alcohol. You can be convicted based on circumstantial evidence, such as your driving pattern or field sobriety test results, or based on your blood alcohol content (BAC). In the state of Maine, you cannot drive if you have a BAC of .08% or higher.

OUI Arrests in Maine

If you are arrested on suspicion of OUI in the state of Maine, you will be asked to submit to a BAC test. You can refuse to take the test, but if you do you will have a stricter punishment because you will have aggravating factors in your case. Before refusing to take the test, you should talk to a qualified OUI attorney.

You will face a court case and an administrative case as a result of your OUI conviction. You must request an administrative hearing with the Bureau of Motor Vehicles within 10 days of your arrest. If you do not, you will automatically lose your right to drive. A qualified OUI lawyer will be able to help you present a case at your Bureau of Motor Vehicles hearing and protect your right to drive for as long as possible.

Basic Consequences for First Time Offenders

If you are facing your first Maine OUI arrest, you can expect to face the following consequences:

If you have aggravating factors in your case, such as driving with minors in the car or refusing the submit to a BAC test, you will also face the following:

The state of Maine has a washout period of 10 years. This means that the only prior OUI convictions that are considered when choosing your consequences are those that occurred within the last 10 years. If you have other OUI convictions in the past 10 years, you will face stronger punishments.

License Suspension for Maine OUI

Your license will be suspended as part of the administrative hearing. Any court-imposed suspensions will be in addition to the following:

Aggravating factors can add to these license suspensions. For instance, if you refuse to take the BAC test, you will face at least 90 more days of suspension times. When you get your license back, it will be conditional for the first year. This means you cannot drive at all after drinking.

Insurance Consequences

Your insurance will also be affected by your Maine OUI conviction. You may face loss of your insurance coverage, or your rates may increase dramatically. Either way, you will find it a costly process



Share |