In the state of Colorado, drivers can be arrested for DUI based on either their blood alcohol level (BAC) or if their driving ability is impaired because of alcohol in their systems. If your BAC is .08% or higher in the state of Colorado, you can be arrested for DUI as defined in the per se laws of the state. Also, if your driving appears to be inhibited by your alcohol levels, you can be arrested even without being in violation of the .08% BAC.
Colorado also has a Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI) infraction. You can be arrested for DWAI if your blood alcohol content is between .05% and .08% and your driving is impaired. This is a lesser offense, but still something that warrants an arrest.DUI Arrests in Colorado
DUI arrests in Colorado spark two hearings, one in the Department of Motor Vehicles and one in the courts. If you are arrested for DUI in Colorado, it is essential that you get in contact with a Colorado DUI lawyer as soon as possible. Under the laws of the state, you only have 7 days after your arrest to request a hearing with the DMV. If you fail to do so or make the request incorrectly, your license will be automatically suspended without question. A qualified Colorado DUI lawyer will be able to help you file the necessary requests. Once the request is filed, your license is protected until your hearing.Basic Consequences for First Time Offenders
If you are arrested for your first DUI offense in the state of Colorado, you can expect to face the following consequences:
Subsequent arrests for Colorado DUI bring stricter consequences. Also, if you are a commercial driver or if you injure someone as a result of your drunk driving, you will face stricter consequences. Anyone with a BAC higher than .17% will also face more consequences.License Suspension for Colorado DUI
Besides the above consequences, you also risk losing your right to drive if you are arrested for a Colorado DUI. The length of time of the suspension depends on the severity of the crime and how many previous DUI arrests are on your record. Standard suspension times are as follows:
On top of these suspension times, you could be required to place an ignition interlock device on your car. If you do not request a DMV hearing within 7 days of your arrest, this suspension will automatically begin.Insurance Consequences
Besides the fact that you will pay quite a bit of money and lose your license when you are arrested for a Colorado DUI, you will also face insurance consequences. Most insurance companies will drop those drivers who have DUI arrests. Those insurance carriers that will still carry your policy will charge you extremely high premiums. This can make getting insurance difficult, if not impossible. However, you will have to have insurance before you will be allowed to get your license back after serving your suspension.